Our Community

Macon County 4-H & Extension Foundation provides and strengthens the educational experiences that enhance the lives of youths and adults in our county.  Without the support of our friends and donors we would not be able to support the programs of University of Illinois Extension like we do.  To honor these individuals, the foundation has an annual awards program to recognize the achievements of our friends and donors.

Stuart Hawbaker Lifetime Achievement Award

This award is named after Stuart Hawbaker who spent his career working with the Cooperatie Extension Service of University of Illinois.  He served as a Farm Advisor and Unit Leader in Macon County for 25 years.  This award recognizes individuals or groups of individuals who have demonstrated a lifetime of extraordinatry commitment, dedication and service in the name of 4-H and Extension in Macon County.

  • Fern Stinson, 2014
  • Ken & Betty Moser, 2013
  • Carol Bork & in Memory of Arnold Bork, 2011
  • Stuart Hawbaker, 2010

Foundation of Excellence Award

This award honors the excellent contributions of leadership, service and education that have a significant impact on our society.  Recipients have advanced the mission of 4-H and Extension in their achievements.

  • Mark Sturgell, 2014
  • Macon County Association for Home & Community Education, 2014
  • Stuart Ellis, 2013
  • Beatrice Hall, Carol Myers, Karen Raiha (4-H Food Stand), 2013
  • Richard Zerfowski, 2011
  • Fern Stinson, 2010

Circle of Honor

The Circle of Honor recognizes the outstanding achievements of 4-H and Extension program members and alumni, volunteers and friends.  This award honors annual contributions to the advancement of the mission of 4-H and Extension in Macon County.

  • Macon County Conservation District, 2014
  • Garfield Montessori Magnet School, 2014
  • 2014 Macon County Master Gardeners’ Garden Walk Committee, 2014
  • Old King’s Orchard Community Center, 2014
  • Brown & Brown Farms, 2013
  • Hagie Manufacturing Co., 2013
  • East Park Baptist Church, 2013
  • Macon County Farm Bureau, 2011
  • Bunselmeyer Farms, 2011
  • DMG Manufacturing, 2011
  • White’s Auto Body, 2011
  • Bendsen Signs, 2011
  • Debbie Black, 2011
  • Leslie Stanberry, 2010
  • Connie Burgett, 2010
  • Caterpillar, 2010
  • Greater Decatur YMCA, 2010
  • Forsyth DMH Wellness Center, 2010
  • Cancer Care Center of Decatur, 2010